Agents and Editors in Attendance

PITCH YOUR BOOK TO A LITERARY AGENT:

These one-on-one meetings at the 2019 Chesapeake Writing Workshop (July 13, 2019) are an amazing chance to pitch your book face-to-face with an agent, and get personal, individual feedback on your pitch/concept. If the agent likes your pitch, they’ll request to see part/all of your book — sending you straight past the slush pile. It also gives you an intimate chance to meet with an agent and pick their brain with any questions on your mind. More 2019 agents to be announced as they are confirmed. You can sign up for pitches at any time, or switch pitches at any time, so long as the agent in question still has appointments open.

——————

Screen Shot 2019-01-16 at 7.08.12 PM.pngEmily Williamson is a literary agent and the founder of Williamson Literary. In adult fiction she is looking for lyrical prose, stories with unique settings, adventure, international, fantasy/sci-fi or science inspired, magical realism. For children’s, she seeks stories that talk up to kids, that inspire and build confidence with cleverness and humor. Prefers middle grade over YA; no picture books. Nonfiction interests: history, sports, science, environmental, narrative, and a solid author platform. Currently looking for science or adventure/travel narratives in the vein of books such as Shadow of the Silk Road or The Sports Gene. Learn more about Emily here.

Screen Shot 2018-11-13 at 10.07.45 AM.pngNikki Terpilowski is a literary agent and founder of Holloway Literary. She seeks Southern fiction, historical fiction, young adult, women’s fiction, literary fiction, mysteries, thrillers, romance (contemporary, historical and romantic suspense), cozy mysteries, science fiction (including Afrofuturist fiction), and African-American fiction of all types. For nonfiction, she seeks books related to mindfulness, healthy eating (Paleo, gluten-free, etc.), regional/ethnic/fusion cookbooks, foodie subjects, travel, alternative simple living, i.e. homesteading, minimalism, etc, interesting self-help (personal and professional), military experiences, Civil War, and Southern living. Learn more about Nikki here.

Screen Shot 2019-06-19 at 2.43.41 PM.pngGwen Hawkes is an editor with St. Martin’s Press and St. Martin’s Essentials. She is seeking: “I’m looking to acquire adult fiction, particularly book club fiction, historical/period fiction, and women’s fiction. I have particular soft spot for magical realism (even occasionally tiptoeing into fantasy). I read for both strong characters and propulsive plotlines. Best of all, I like books and characters that are brave enough to tangle with big ideas. I’m also in search of narrative nonfiction that reveals stories and places every bit as engaging as fiction. Untold histories, environmental and nature writing, and memoir are all favorites. Within SMP Essentials, I’m looking for body, mind, spirit titles that are geared to a younger, millennial audience—how to build a life (relationally, financially, spiritually, vocationally, etc.) that you love. Books that are direct and practical in their approach are ideal. I’m also interested in narrative nonfiction that could fall into the body, mind, spirit category.” Learn more about Gwen here.

Screen Shot 2015-12-01 at 9.50.27 AMVicki Selvaggio is a literary agent with Storm Literary (formerly with Jennifer De Chiara Literary). She is currently looking for lyrical picture books, middle grade and young adult fiction, new adult, mysteries, suspense, thrillers, paranormal, fantasy, narrative nonfiction, and adult fiction. Vicki is especially drawn to middle grade and young adult. “I especially love thrillers and all elements of weird, creepy stuff. If it’s out of the box, and it will make me think and think, long after I’m done reading, send it to me! On the flip side, I yearn for books that make me laugh, cry and wonder about the world.” Learn more about Vicki here.

Screen Shot 2019-05-29 at 10.26.27 AMBibi Lewis is a literary agent with The Ethan Ellenberg Literary Agency. She is seeking: “I am currently looking for young adult, middle grade, and picture books — as well as commercial and upmarket fiction. In all genres I am looking for contemporary realism, fantasy, mysteries, historicals and lots of humor. I have a soft spot for heists and sleuths (and would especially love to see a new YA Harriet the Spy or Veronica Mars!) as well as twisty thrillers. On the adult side, I am looking for anything smart, sharp and witty — but specifically for romance, women’s fiction, mysteries and thrillers. Well-developed characters are a must. I always welcome diverse narratives, including but not limited to LGBTQ or minority voices.” Learn more about Bibi here.

Screen Shot 2019-05-22 at 8.21.33 PMDeborah Grosvenor is a literary at The Grosvenor Literary Agency. The agency’s emphasis is on strong, serious, interesting nonfiction. Deborah is interested in: narrative nonfiction in the categories of history, biography, politics, current and foreign affairs, memoir, food, health, science, the environment and travel. For fiction, she is simply interested in great storytelling, especially in an historical context. Learn more about Deborah here.

Screen Shot 2019-05-22 at 8.14.09 PMShari Maurer is a literary agent with Stringer Literary. She is seeking: For fiction, she seeks young adult and middle grade (all kinds), new adult, children’s picture books, romance, and women’s fiction. In nonfiction, she seeks kidlit YA and MG (including biography), narrative nonfiction, parenting, biography, and memoir. Learn more about Shari here.

Screen Shot 2019-01-17 at 5.15.21 PM.pngZabé Ellor is a literary agent with The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency. He is seeking all genres and areas of young adult. He is also seeking adult science fiction and fantasy. He seeks graphic novel projects for all age groups. In nonfiction, he has wide interests as long as your platform is excellent. He particularly wants nonfiction proposals for books about science and history that teach and entertain in equal measure. Learn more about Zabe here

Screen Shot 2019-01-17 at 5.23.40 PM.pngLaura Strachan is a literary agent and founder of Strachan Literary Agency. Fiction interests: Primarily literary fiction and upmarket commercial. In general, the agency seeks no genre fiction; however, Laura will consider fiction with crossover potential if beautifully written. Nonfiction interests: Narrative nonfiction, including memoirs and travel writing. Will consider other nonfiction projects if quirky or interesting. Particularly interested in “single subject” books (think SALT, or COD, or MAUVE, etc.). Children’s interests: She seeks high quality YA or middle grade fiction. No picture books. Learn more about Laura here.

Screen Shot 2017-10-30 at 11.00.00 AM.pngStacey Graham is a literary agent with Red Sofa Literary. Currently, she is seeking romance, humorous fiction, middle grade fiction with a great voice (especially funny and/or spooky), historical fiction with a commercial hook (no 20th century pitches please). She also represents nonfiction in the following categories: humor with a strong platform (no dating memoirs), history, and children’s nonfiction that walks on the weird side (adult nonfiction, young adult nonfiction, middle grade nonfiction, picture book nonfiction). Learn more about Laura here.

Screen Shot 2019-01-19 at 10.06.45 PM.pngStephanie Kehr is a jr. agent and for C.Y.L.E. Literary. Stephanie is looking for skillfully crafted stories that capture the heart and answer the world’s deepest questions. She’s seeking young adult, middle grade, historical, children’s picture books, chapter books, romance, science fiction, fantasy, inspirational, and authors with strong platform, unique ideas, and diverse characters. In nonfiction, she’s interested in self-help, devotionals, leadership, biographies, and religious genres. Learn more about Stephanie here.

 

 

        More 2019 agents/editors to be announced as they are confirmed. You can sign up for pitches at any time, or switch pitches at any time, so long as the agent in question still has appointments open. You can pitch as many agents & editors as like you wish.

These one-on-one meetings are an amazing chance to pitch your book face-to-face with an agent, and get personal, individual feedback on your pitch/concept. If the agent likes your pitch, they’ll request to see part/all of your book — sending you straight past the slush pile. It also gives you an intimate chance to meet with an agent and pick their brain with any questions on your mind.

(Please note that Agent/Editor Pitching is an add-on, separate aspect of the day, for only those who sign up. Spaces are limited for these premium meetings.)

Advertisements