Agents and Editors in Attendance

PITCH YOUR BOOK TO A LITERARY AGENT:

These one-on-one meetings at the 2020 Chesapeake Writing Workshop (October 10, 2020) are an amazing chance to pitch your book face-to-face with an agent, and get personal, individual feedback on your pitch/concept. If the agent likes your pitch, they’ll request to see part/all of your book — sending you straight past the slush pile. It also gives you an intimate chance to meet with an agent and pick their brain with any questions on your mind. More 2020 agents to be announced as they are confirmed. You can sign up for pitches at any time, or switch pitches at any time, so long as the agent in question still has appointments open.

——————

Screen Shot 2019-01-16 at 7.08.12 PM.pngEmily Williamson is a literary agent and the founder of Williamson Literary. In adult fiction she is looking for lyrical prose, stories with unique settings, adventure, international, fantasy/sci-fi or science inspired, magical realism. For children’s, she seeks stories that talk up to kids, that inspire and build confidence with cleverness and humor. Prefers middle grade over YA; no picture books. Nonfiction interests: history, sports, science, environmental, narrative, and a solid author platform. Currently looking for science or adventure/travel narratives in the vein of books such as Shadow of the Silk Road or The Sports Gene. Learn more about Emily here.

Screen Shot 2019-12-16 at 3.41.58 PMSarah Davies is a literary agent and founder of Greenhouse Literary. What Sarah is seeking: kidlit fiction by North American authors — from middle grade through young adult across all genres. (Note: she is currently closed to debut picture books but does rep PBs by clients whom she’s initially taken on for other fiction.) She loves strong, hooky, layered plots, writing that is gorgeous but also conceptually strong, and stories that are really moving but make you think too. She is particularly seeking authors from under-represented backgrounds and stories with diverse settings and perspectives. Additionally: Sarah is open to children’s/teen nonfiction projects that have a strong angle on a subject that jives with today’s concerns. She is also open, by referral, to women’s fiction — especially in the suspense genre. Learn more about Sarah here.

Screen Shot 2018-05-12 at 5.01.07 PMDara Kaye is a literary agent and Foreign Rights Manager at Ross Yoon Agency. For fiction, her interests include speculative fiction (science fiction and fantasy). As an agent, she is looking for great nonfiction — particularly narrative nonfiction. “I’m looking for great storytelling that teaches readers to see things differently—whether it exposes a story of modern corruption, tells the backstory of a historic scientific breakthrough, recasts original research for a popular audience, or in the case of biography and memoir, holds up a mirror to a specific experience and shows what is universal in it. I am particularly interested in hidden histories, underrepresented voices, and unexpected intersections of topics, styles, and audiences.” Learn more about Dara here.

Screen Shot 2019-12-03 at 9.00.21 PMKirsten Neuhaus is a literary agent with Foundry Literary + Media. As an agent, Kirsten is looking for nonfiction projects with the three ideal components: the right topic, at the right time, with the right author. She focuses on narrative and prescriptive nonfiction by authors with established audiences, in the areas of business, memoir, lifestyle, current events and stories with strong female voices, as well as smart fiction and select children’s books that appeal to a wide market. Learn more about Kirsten here.

Screen Shot 2019-12-03 at 9.26.24 PMAmanda Jain is a literary agent at BookEnds Literary. Amanda currently reps adult romance, mystery, women’s fiction, upmarket fiction, and science fiction & fantasy, with a special emphasis on historical fiction in all genres. She also represents narrative nonfiction, especially projects exploring the literary world, art history, material culture, archaeology, food history, social history, and popular science. She loves projects with a strong sense of place and those that create a completely immersive world. She is particularly interested in books that add something important to the conversation, that explore stories we haven’t yet heard, and that introduce new voices to our reading experience. Learn more about Amanda here.

Screen Shot 2019-01-19 at 10.06.45 PM.pngStephanie Kehr is a jr. agent and for C.Y.L.E. Literary. Stephanie is looking for skillfully crafted stories that capture the heart and answer the world’s deepest questions. She’s seeking young adult, middle grade, historical, children’s picture books, chapter books, romance, science fiction, fantasy, inspirational, and authors with strong platform, unique ideas, and diverse characters. In nonfiction, she’s interested in self-help, devotionals, leadership, biographies, and religious genres. Learn more about Stephanie here.

Screen Shot 2019-01-17 at 5.15.21 PM.pngZabé Ellor is a literary agent with The Jennifer De Chiara Literary Agency. He is seeking all genres and areas of young adult. He is also seeking adult science fiction and fantasy. He seeks graphic novel projects for all age groups. In nonfiction, he has wide interests as long as your platform is excellent. He particularly wants nonfiction proposals for books about science and history that teach and entertain in equal measure. Learn more about Zabe here.

Screen Shot 2019-05-22 at 8.21.33 PMDeborah Grosvenor is a literary at The Grosvenor Literary Agency. The agency’s emphasis is on strong, serious, interesting nonfiction. Deborah is interested in: narrative nonfiction in the categories of history, biography, politics, current and foreign affairs, memoir, food, health, science, the environment and travel. For fiction, she is simply interested in great storytelling, especially in an historical context. Learn more about Deborah here.

 

        More 2019 agents/editors to be announced as they are confirmed. You can sign up for pitches at any time, or switch pitches at any time, so long as the agent in question still has appointments open. You can pitch as many agents & editors as like you wish.

These one-on-one meetings are an amazing chance to pitch your book face-to-face with an agent, and get personal, individual feedback on your pitch/concept. If the agent likes your pitch, they’ll request to see part/all of your book — sending you straight past the slush pile. It also gives you an intimate chance to meet with an agent and pick their brain with any questions on your mind.

(Please note that Agent/Editor Pitching is an add-on, separate aspect of the day, for only those who sign up. Spaces are limited for these premium meetings.)